British Curriculum

GEMS Founders School – Masdar City offers a value-based British education and is one of the few reasonably priced private schools in Abu Dhabi to offer world-class standards of education.

Curriculum: National Curriculum for England

Year levels: Foundation Stage (FS) to Year 8

At GEMS Founders School - Masdar City we teach the traditional UK curriculum but in an international context where the UAE Ministry of Education syllabus is incorporated into the curriculum structure.

In addition to the development of specific skills and competencies, the curriculum emphasises enquiry, creativity, analytical evaluation and other skills needed to meet the challenges of the future. 

Framework Principles

Also referred to as the National Curriculum for England, the British education system is a well-rounded framework introduced in the United Kingdom (UK) in the late 1980s. Over time, it evolved into a more balanced and student-focused curriculum, with some elements introduced in 2015. This learning programme has been widely implemented not only in private schools in the UK, but also in other countries like the UAE. It covers fundamental subjects like English, science, and mathematics, as well as several multi-disciplinary subjects, such as: design and technology, history, geography, art and design, music, physical education, computing, and ancient and modern foreign languages.


Student Progress


Students in the British curriculum progress through “years” of learning (the counterpart for grade levels in the American curriculum). They also undergo milestones organised into blocks called “key stages” (KS). At the end of each key stage, teachers determine the students’ progress based on their performance in the core subjects through assessments and statutory and national exams.

Key Stages

The education system in the UK follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) for children aged three to four, focusing on fundamental skills like communication, social development, and basic subjects. Primary education starts at age five, divided into Key Stages 1 and 2, where students study core subjects and additional ones in the UAE like Islamic studies and UAE social studies. Key Stage 2 prepares them for more advanced work in Key Stage 3, covering subjects like history and geography. Secondary education, beginning at age 11, encompasses lower secondary levels concentrating on subject-based learning and upper secondary stages involving the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE). At the A-Level stage, students choose specialised subjects, shaping their future career paths. Throughout these stages, students undergo assessments to determine readiness for the next key stages in the British curriculum.

Iflourish Page


The British curriculum introduces students to a wide range of subjects, giving them a broad and balanced education that can pave the way for further study or work. It provides well-rounded learning programmes that foster both academic and practical skills, encompassing critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, and research abilities. GFA emphasises global recognition, guiding students toward qualifications such as Advanced Subsidiary (AS) and Advanced (A) Levels, as well as the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE). Moreover, the British curriculum facilitates specialised learning in secondary stages, enabling students to focus on specific subjects and receive in-depth instruction from experts in their chosen fields. This approach equips students with skills applicable to diverse career paths, offering them a valuable advantage in their future pursuits.

More To Explore